Tags


“Can you picture what will be, so limitless and free
Desperately in need, of some, stranger’s hand
In a, desperate land” – Jim Morrison 

20150419_160244

When I first heard the noise of the closing of 2CW I didn’t know what to think. I first thought this is some sort of joke. It can’t be real, this thing is way too fun.

But it was true.

It was in Binghamton, the second home of 2CW. That it actually clicked in. It was the night after they returned home to the Pastime Athletic Center.

Could it be true?

I stood and watched others as I saw certain people cry. Tears of joy, tears of fear, tears of all sorts poured down their faces.

How could this be happening?

I stood outside the American Legion as I hung out with people that a few years ago I hadn’t a clue who they were. They were complete strangers. But now they have one common thing, they felt the same thing I felt. And now they were in pain. I was in pain. Our lives would forever be changed.

This truly couldn’t be true!

As the staff and wrestlers took down the ring, walking it past us. Blank stares on all. Men who had boys because of small wrestling company based in Upstate New York. A six foot five man walked by me, his life had changed drastically. He grew up on 2CW. His life changed because of 2CW. He was once one of us, the fans, and now he had returned from a stint in Japan. A dream of mine. One I’ll never obtain. But he, he got that dream. He got to wrestle in the same country of the legends from Terry Funk to Vader to The Great Muta. A country where legendary wrestling occurred, a country which I’ve only see on VHS tapes I had obtained.

And he would have to crush heads elsewhere.

The savvy vet walked by me, stopping to shake hands. He knew this was the end. His sorrow was obvious, but he hid it, as we all tried. The vet that felt like a young kid again inside that squared circle with orange and blue ropes. The fans cheered him and chanted his name.

Would this soon be the end of the line?

As we moved inside, we ended up in the bar. A few of the staff were there and a couple of the wrestlers. I took a seat at the end of the bar. I’ve never been inside this room on the numerous times I’ve visited this American Legion. I looked around. I saw a table in the corner in honor of the fallen soldiers. Around the room was small signs noting other American Legions around the country. I noticed places I’ve been, towns I’ve grown up in and towns I’ve said goodbye to because well, sometimes the reason you visit that town has gone on and it just doesn’t feel right.

So Binghamton would be one of those towns?

There was a song playing, there was talking occurring, but it didn’t matter. For this may be the end. The end of something that I have become overly enthused about. Something that felt like home. Something to not only believe in but be a part of. I’ve been to wrestling shows before, I’ve been a part of something, but never before has it felt so right.

Yet, at this moment it felt so wrong.

I chatted with the staff and the wrestlers. I said goodbye to the fans. I said goodbye to the Legion. I said goodbye to Binghamton. As I drove off and on my long drive back to Albany things, things just didn’t seem right. I flipped around the channels on my Sirius radio. Nothing sounded right. I usually like listening to certain channels, but when I heard Nirvana, I couldn’t stand it. Neil Young, just wasn’t doing it. And then I found myself listening to 80s music. I never listen to 80s music.

I never cared about a wrestling company either.

Yeah, there was other companies I followed. I even ran some a backyard federation. But then again who didn’t? I remember the death of ECW and WCW. All three of those died in my senior year of High School. There was even a point where I was thinking of moving to Philadelphia to become a professional wrestler. But now, 14 years later, I’m comfortable with being a fan.

Well, until this.

As I write this, I know there’s still more to say, there’s still more to view. 2CW ain’t dead yet. And it’s not a company that’s going out of business nor falling. It’s a company going out on top. It’s a company that can keep going because it’s got one thing that most companies don’t. That’s fans that care. If a match is going good, they’ll let you know. If a match sucks, they’ll rip the person apart. And these fans, the people I’ve met, they have the same wrestling ideology that I have: wrestling over all other crap. And that’s what 2CW built it’s name on.

And that’s why they call it 2CW and not TCW!